About Us

Our Steering Group is made up entirely of volunteers who are local residents. We give a considerable amount of our time and effort to endeavour in creating a well-planned community for the future of the parish. Subsequently, being volunteers, it sometimes takes a little longer for progress to be made, but please do bear with us, we are all doing our best!

We have recently had some personnel changes: Bev Marks has re-joined the SG as a full voting member again on June 18th 2020. Meanwhile Cate Sullivan has stepped down from full membership, but is retained as a consultant with effect from July 1st 2020 with no voting rights.

A Neighbourhood Plan has legal standing once it is approved and will then form the legal basis for local planning decisions. It must be created using the correct consultation and structure. This is the job of the Steering Group.

Steering Group Terms of Reference

Here are the Terms of Reference

Current steering group members

Cllr Margaret HowellChairman and Press Secretary
Paul WhymarkVice Chairman
Cllr Dale WheelerSecretary
Carol HarrisTreasurer
Cllr Andrew Brown 
Sue Best 
Cllr Allan Russell 
Bev Marks 
Cate SullivanConsultant

Declaration of interests

All members have filed in declaration of Interest forms and these are held by Battle Town Council